Skip to content

Programs : Brochure

This page is the brochure for your selected program. You can view the provided information for this program on this page and click on the available buttons for additional options.
  • Locations: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada;
  • Program Terms: Academic Year, Fall, Spring
  • Homepage: Click to visit
  • Restrictions: UAF applicants only
Dates / Deadlines:
Dates / Deadlines:
Term Year App Deadline Decision Date Start Date End Date
Fall 2022 03/01/2022 03/15/2022 TBA TBA
Academic Year 2022-2023 03/01/2022 03/15/2022 TBA TBA
Spring 2023 09/30/2022 ** Rolling Admission TBA TBA

** Indicates rolling admission application process. Applicants will be immediately notified of acceptance into this program and be able to complete post-decision materials prior to the term's application deadline.
Fact Sheet:
Fact Sheet:
Program Type: Exchange, north2north Exchange UAA/UAS Eligible?: No
Program Description:
Cape Breton University is a small undergraduate university located on beautiful Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada. Cape Breton University promises and delivers excellent educational experiences for students. One of the key components of this experience is our small class sizes, low student-to-instructor ratios, and opportunities for experiential and hands-on learning.

CBU offers undergraduate degrees in liberal arts, social sciences , business, science and technology, as well as diplomas and certificates in engineering technology, education, and theatre, and an MBA in Community Economic Development. Through Unama'ki College and the Department of Indigenous  Studies, CBU is also Atlantic Canada's leader in Aboriginal post-secondary . CBU is an emerging leader in sustainability and alternative energy through the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment.

CBU is a new and growing University, which traces its roots back to 1951 when the St. Francis Xavier University-Sydney Campus was opened. In 1968, the Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology opened with a focus on business technology and trades. In 1974, the Nova Scotia Eastern Institute of Technology and St. Francis Xavier University-Sydney Campus amalgamated to become the College of Cape Breton, changing to the University College of Cape Breton in 1982. In 2005, Cape Breton University was created with the establishment of the Cape Breton University Act.

Cape Breton University is located in the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, which has a population of approximately 100,000 people. CBU serves approximately 4000 full-time and part-time students from local, regional, national, and international locations,including several hundred international students representing more than 50 countries.

Our faculty, students , and graduates are recognized nationally and international for innovative accomplishments from academic excellence to athletic prowess. These successes contribute to Cape Breton University' growing reputation for excellence both in and out of the classroom.

You can also participate in this program through the National Student Exchange!